William Shakespeare’s As You Like It, A Radical Retelling

by Cliff Cardinal

April 26 – May 15, 2022

Sweet are the uses of adversity, Which, like the toad, ugly and venomous, Wears yet a precious jewel in his head – AS YOU LIKE IT, WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE

Theatre Network is pleased to present the Crow’s Theatre production of William Shakespeare’s As You Like It, A Radical Retelling by Cliff Cardinal.

The title of William Shakespeare’s As You Like It holds a double meaning that famously teases, this is a play to please all tastes. But is that possible?

In this radical retelling, acclaimed Indigenous creator and cultural provocateur Cliff Cardinal delights in black humour, difficult subject matter, and raw emotions.

“It is anarchic and tender and seething and raw. And important for us now. – Istvan Reviews

“Unlike any other production of the play, past or future. NNNN” – Now Magazine

Born on the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation, Cardinal (Stitch, Huff, and Cliff Cardinal’s CBC Special) studied playwriting at the National Theatre School of Canada and is an associate artist at VideoCabaret, where he develops his new work.


Writer: Cliff Cardinal

Featuring: cast will be announced at each performance.

Show Program

Listen: Bradley Moss speaks CJSR’s Trevor Talbott about the opening of the Roxy and William Shakespeare’s As You Like It, A Radical Retelling by Cliff Cardinal


COVID-19 Attendance Policy
Please do not attend if you are not feeling well, have tested positive for COVID-19 within the last five days, or have recently been a close contact of someone who has tested positive. Masks are welcomed and encouraged but not required. Please note: we may change the above measures at any time, given the fluid COVID-19 situation. We will do our best to update audiences with regards to new measures if they become necessary.

April 26 to May 15, 2022

Info

Nancy Powers Theatre
General Admission

Run Time 105 Minutes | No Intermission

Tickets

Tue. 26 Apr. 2022 – 8pm – Preview Performance
Wed. 27 Apr. 2022 – 8pm – Preview Performance
Fri. 29 Apr. 2022 – 8pm
Sat. 30 Apr. 2022 – 8pm
Sun. 01 May 2022 – 2pm
Tue. 03 May 2022 – 8pm
Wed. 04 May 2022 – 8pm
Thu. 05 May 2022 – 8pm
Fri. 06 May 2022 – 8pm
Sat. 07 May 2022 – 8pm
Sun. 08 May 2022 – 2pm
Tue. 10 May 2022 – 8pm
Wed. 11 May 2022 – 8pm
Thu. 12 May 2022 – 8pm
Fri. 13 May 2022 – 8pm
Sat. 14 May 2022 – 8pm
Sun. 15 May 2022 – 2pm


MAIN STAGE SPONSOR

PRODUCTION SPONSORS