Help us bring the new Roxy to life

On January 13, 2015 Theatre Network lost their home of The Roxy Theatre – which left a hole in the arts community and on 124 Street in Edmonton.

Now, Theatre Network is working to bring a New Roxy Theatre back where it belongs.

We need your generosity to Rebuild the Roxy Theatre. With your financial support the New Roxy will rise from the ashes!

Donate Now Learn More
Help us
get to 1.5m
Donate Now Learn More

The Governor general’s award

Over their 80 years, the GG Awards have expanded to include 7 categories, in both French and English, with a $25,000 prize. They have celebrated nearly 700 works by over 500 authors, poets, playwrights, translators and illustrators.

Two productions during our 1985/86 season were nominated for Canada’s Governor General’s Award for Drama, Odd Jobs by Frank Moher (a co-production with Catalyst Theatre) and Walt and Roy by Michael McKinlay, directed by Stephen Heatley.

More recent Governor General Award nominations include The Gravitational Pull of Bernice Trimble by Beth Graham (2014/15 Season) and Pig Girl by Colleen Murphy (2013/14 Season). In 2016 Pig Girl by Colleen Murphy was awarded the Governor General’s Literary Award in the Drama category.

The Sterling Awards

The Elizabeth Sterling Haynes Awards were created in 1987/88 to celebrate excellence in the theatre arts. Truly, for us folks in Edmonton, the Sterling’s are big bash and a fun party to celebrate all of the good work created by our community each season.

Following is a complete list of Theatre Network Award Recipients.

For a more complete look at the Edmonton’s theatre awards visit

Outstanding Production of a Play
2018/19 – We Are Not Alone
2017/18 – Métis Mutt
2016/17 – Irma Voth
2013/14 – Little One
2012/13 – Let the Light of Day Through
2002/03 – Perfect Pie
2000/01 – Happy
1997/98 – Tinka’s New Dress
1996/97 – The Stone Angel

Outstanding Production of a Musical
2004/05 – The Black Rider
2002/03 – Hedwig and the Angry Inch
1992/93 – Skippy Gets a Boner
1988/89 – Haunting Melody

Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role
2016/17 – Andréa Jorawsky (Irma Voth)
2013/14 – Amber Borotsik (Little One)
2008/09 – Natasha Girgis (Palace of the End)
2005/06 – Caroline Livingstone (Girl in a Goldfish Bowl)
2004/05 – Davina Stewart (Marion Bridge)
1996/97 – Sharon Bakker (The Stone Angel)

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role
2017/18 – Sheldon Elter (Métis Mutt)
2012/13 – Jesse Gervais (Let the Light of Day Through)
2011/12 – Brian Dooley (Michel & Ti-Jean)
2009/10 – Duval Lang (The Erotic Anguish of Don Juan)
2002/03 – Michael Scholar Jr. (Hedwig and the Angry Inch)
2000/01 – Ronnie Burkett (Happy)
1997/98 – Ronnie Burkett (Tinka’s New Dress)
1988/89 – Andrew Dolha (David for Queen)

Outstanding Performance  in a Supporting Role – Drama
2018/19 – Bobbi Goddard (What A Young Wife Ought to Know)

Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role
2004/05 – Caroline Livingstone (Marion Bridge)
2003/04 – Vanessa Holmes (Vincent in Brixton)
1987/88 – Kate Newby (The Mail Order Bride)

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role
2004/05 – Clinton Carew (The Black Rider)
1997/98 – Ashley Wright (That Woman)

Outstanding Director
2014/15 – Bradley Moss (The Gravitational Pull of Bernice Trimble)
2009/10 – Marianne Copithorne (The Woman in Black)
2004/05 – Ron Jenkins (The Black Rider)
2002/03 – Bradley Moss (Hedwig and the Angry Inch)
1987/88 – Stephen Heatley (The Third Ascent)

Outstanding New Play
2016/17 – Irma Voth by Chris Craddock Adapted from the Novel by Miriam Toews
2012/13 – Let the Light of Day Through by Collin Doyle
2004/05 – Summer of My Amazing Luck by Chris Craddock Adapted from the Novel by Miriam Toews
2003/04 – Provenance by Ronnie Burkett
1998/99 – Mom, Dad, I’m Living with a White Girl by Marty Chan
1995/96 – Scraping the Surface by Lyle Victor Albert
1992/93 – Castrato by Greg Nelson
1990/91 – Cheek to Cheek by Raymond Storey
1987/88 – The Third Ascent by Frank Moher

Outstanding Set Design
2014/15 – Cory Sincennes (The Gravitational Pull of Bernice Trimble)
2008/09 – Camellia Koo (East of Berlin)
2005/06 – Roger Schultz (The Leisure Society)
2004/05 – Marissa Kochanski (Marion Bridge)
2003/04 – Roger Schultz (A Skull in Connemara)
2000/01 – Narda McCarrroll (Lawrence & Holloman)
1997/98 – Ronnie Burkett (Tinka’s New Dress)
1995/96 – Robert Shannon (Young Art)
1987/88 – Daniel Van Heyst (Penguins)

Outstanding Lighting Design
2018/19 – Kimberly Purtell (We Are Not Alone)
2012/13 – Scott Peters (Let the Light of Day Through)
2009/10 – Cimmeron Meyer (The Erotic Anguish of Don Juan)
2002/03 – David Fraser (Hedwig and the Angry Inch)
1996/97 – Judith Bowden (The Stone Angel)

Outstanding Costume Design
2009/10 – Jen Gareau (The Erotic Anguish of Don Juan)
2002/03 – Roger Schultz (Hedwig and the Angry Inch)
1998/99 – Ronnie Burkett (Street of Blood)
1997/98 – Ronnie Burkett (Tinka’s New Dress)

Outstanding Sound Design/ Soundscape/Composition
1997/98 – Cathy Nosaty (Tinka’s New Dress)
1994/95 – Darrin Hagen (Poor Superman)
1987/88 – Doug Blackley (The Third Ascent)

Outstanding Score of a Play or Musical
2000/01 – Darrin Hagen (Lawrence & Holloman)
1999/00 – Greg Morrison (Mump & Smoot in Something Else)
1998/99 – Peter Moller (Mom, Dad, I’m Living with a White Girl)

Outstanding Musical Direction
2015/16 – Erik Mortimer (The Last Five Years)
2004/05 – Corinne Kessel (The Black Rider)
2002/03 – Chris Wynters (Hedwig and the Angry Inch)
1991/92 – Edward Connell (Magic Moment)

Outstanding Achievement in Multi-Media Design
2017/18 – Ian Jackson (Infinity)
2016/17 –  Ian Jackson (Irma Voth)
2002/03 – ­ Ian Jackson (Excavations/Hedwig and the Angry Inch)

Outstanding Production for Young Audiences
1990/91 – The Other Side of the Pole

Outstanding Individual Achievement in Administration
2008/09 – Kevin Hendricks
1997/98 – David Hennessey