The Christmas Carol Project

It's divine madness.

Edmonton Sun

Tickets are $32 in advance; $37 at the door
Children receive FREE admission to both matinee performances

Edmonton’s hippest Christmas tradition returns – a unique fusion of theatre and music. The spirit of the classic Dickens tale has been captured and translated into a modern roots music celebration. Listen to the music of Juno-Award winning musicians and celebrate the Christmas season in style.

“The Carol Project” is an all-Canadian musical adaptation of Dickens’ classic Christmas tale, featuring nine award-winning Alberta roots/folk musicians. Performed to sell-out audiences each December for the past 10-years in Edmonton, this television version is punctuated with stylized dramatic dream interludes that link an original score of 14 musical pieces chronicling this transformative night in the life of one Ebenezer Scrooge.

A ghost story with timeless lessons of greed, love, loss and redemption “The Carol Project” features each singer/song-writer in a character role, and one or more songs each has composed to go with his or her part in the story. As an ensemble, they deliver an engaging concoction of storytelling and songs for all ages, written from the perspectives of the characters each portrays on stage. More than just a concert, the hour combines the best elements of a traditional stage show with televisual imagery and dramatic inserts that reflects the novella’s wondrous shifts in time, space and disposition.

“The Carol Project” was recently filmed for television and airs on Bravo! Wednesday, December 20th at 9pm Atlantic/8pm Eastern/6pm Mountain/5pm Pacific; on CITY-TV Christmas Day, December 25th at: 4pm Toronto & Vancouver/10pm Edmonton & Calgary/8pm Winnipeg; and A-CHANNEL Christmas Day at 10pm local time in Victoria and Ontario (Windsor, Barrie and Ottawa).

Featuring:

Bill Bourne as Ebenezer Scrooge
Tom Roschkov as Bob Cratchit
Kevin Cook as the Ghost of Marley
Terry Morrison as the Ghost of Christmas Past
Al Brant as the Ghost of Christmas Present
Dale Ladouceur as Alice & the Ghost of Christmas Future
Bill Hobson on drums & percussion
Maria Dunn as Tiny Tim
and Kenneth Brown, narration & vocals

“The album features brilliant local people like Bill Bourne and Maria Dunn on songs that manage to capture the spirit of Christmas and the spirit of the Charles Dickens story without being the least bit corny or maudlin about it. It’s ‘haunting.’ Ho, ho, ho …”
– Edmonton Sun

For more information see: http://www.brassmonkeyproductions.com/

READ: History of The Christmas Carol Project